Disagreeing with a casting choice makes you a racist now


My reason for disliking the casting choice of Mary Jane for Spider-Man: Homecoming is pretty simple: If the rumours are true, they are done for political purposes. I could give less of a shit about Mary Jane being played by Zandaya. I just want her to portray her role well. The very first thing I heard about her possible casting wasn’t “racist backlash.” The very first I heard about her possible casting was people calling supposed others who are against her casting “racists.” And honestly I think she’s one of the few people that could play her true to the character. I just hope the Marvel writers don’t make a big deal about the fact that she’s black, otherwise then it just becomes another piece of garbage because they want to justify their casting choices. And just to put these “racist” accusations to rest.

10832889_sdcc-spider-man-homecoming-confirms_dab2e9bb_mIf Spider-Man was a novel and not a “graphic” novel, then it would not matter who they cast would it? Readers would visualize the characters how ever they liked and there would be no consistency. Unfortunately “comics” aren’t visual, so there is a visual association with characters. Mary Jane has always been white and a red head, so I can understand why it is a problem for some people. Nothing overtly racist about having that opinion, and it certainly isn’t wrong by a long shot. And what pisses me off the most about this entire situation is that people that are disagreeing with this casting choice, are being forced to conform to others perceived social issues knowing if they don’t they will be called out as being racists. For no other apparent reason other than no agreeing with said casting choices being made for this movie.

About larch

I am a cucumber in a fruit bowl.
This entry was posted in Comics, Movies, Rants and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Disagreeing with a casting choice makes you a racist now

  1. swanpride says:

    *thumbs up*

    My issue is more that I don’t want to see Mary Jane Watson at all at this point…but then, I don’t think that the rumour is true. The source is more than a little questionable, and I honestly don’t see any reason why Marvel should hide the fact that Mary Jane is in this movie.

Comments are closed.