What happened to Leslie Jones on Twitter is unfortunate


So it seems it has come to this. Ghostbusters fans like myself who have been expressing our opinion and concern about the reboot have been widely accused by the media led narrative of being trolls, haters and sexist misogynistic 40 year old neck-beards who live in their parent’s basement. As most of my readers might know by now, I give my opinion like anyone else and I keep it at that. I may be vocal, I may be harsh but I am objective and I can definitely be swayed by a compelling counterpoint which has happened a number of times in the past. One thing I try my best not to do is attack people for their opinions, but every now and then it does happen because I am human after all. But I definitely draw the line when it comes to online verbal abuse on social media and making racist or sexist comments.

sub-buzz-12604-1468920808-1But now according to the media because I dislike the Ghostbusters reboot and I am a Gamergate supporter somehow I am now responsible for the racially-motivated hatred directed at Leslie Jones on Twitter? So Twitter trolls being well trolls harass her like Twitter trolls always do, just like they do with pretty much anyone they target on Twitter. And this somehow validates the idea that people hate this movie for sexist reasons? Have we as a society really become that stupid? Or is the mental gymnastics behind that leap of logic just too much to handle for the media outlets? Nope. Blame, blame, blame, blame, blame, and feel morally superior even if the people the journalist and media are blaming for this are totally innocent. The dog-piling was a pure example of stupid bullying across the internet.

The fact that it was towards a celebrity or that said celebrity is playing in a reboot of a beloved franchise that has been the center of controversy is entirely inconsequential. The abuse that Leslie Jones received on Twitter was not some deliberate campaign of hate, by people who disliked the Ghostbusters reboot. Unlike what the media outlets are trying to tell us. Most hardcore fans like myself do not support such deplorable actions in any form or manner. There is a very sad truth and unfortunate truth when dealing with trolls on the internet that Leslie Jones learned the hard way. Trolls do it for attention, and the more you give them, the more they goad you on. Much of it could have been avoided had she hit the mute button and walked away.

leslie_jones_copy-xlarge_trans++eo_i_u9APj8RuoebjoAHt0k9u7HhRJvuo-ZLenGRumAI believe Leslie did not know how to respond at all. Since she is a stand-up comedian, I think she responded like she would a heckler at a comedy show. She did not know that it does not work on trolls. I have first-hand experience in dealing with this, as it has happened to me more than once being a blogger and someone who likes to express his opinion it does put a a definite target on your back. Same with being an actor or any other celebrity on the internet. Leslie, I know you will probably never read this but you were not swarmed by Ghostbusters fans. You were swarmed by trolls deliberately trying to get under your skin by any means necessary. They may actually be worse because they cannot be shamed or persuaded otherwise. Avoid them, they are not worth your time.

About larch

I am a cucumber in a fruit bowl.
This entry was posted in Movies, Rants and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What happened to Leslie Jones on Twitter is unfortunate

  1. Pingback: Regarding the Leslie Jones post I made… | Suitably Bored

Comments are closed.