Comic book social commentary done right


jlayearone02-impracticalcostumes001

Fuck me! For the first time in a while, a joke is made with a woman in panel that doesn’t involve some cringy social justice feminist message being spewed at the reader. Also it is interesting to note that some women refer to pointy toed, high heel shoes as “egg scramblers”. I don’t think that requires a visual aid. Practicality has always taken a backseat to coolness when it comes to fiction and fantasy in comic books. It is rather refreshing to see this comic panel not turning into a diatribe of “I’m a strong independent woman and I can dress how I like.” etc that we have been seeing in these comic books a lot lately.

About larch

I am a cucumber in a fruit bowl.
This entry was posted in Comics, Rants and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.