“The Mary Sue” runs hoax videogame article


Mark Ankucic, a former video games writer who was fired from his previous position due to his support for  the online movement Gamergate, somehow convinced an editors at The Mary Sue that he was a woman writing under nickname “Sandy Beaches” to avoid “online harassment.” Using the fake alter ego Ankucic managed to get two fake articles published on the site. One about combating sexism in the upcoming remake of Final Fantasy VII video game, and another about the inherent sexism of the popular tabletop RPG game Warmachine. He recently revealed his exploits, and also explained his motivations:

tumblr_mcb6zqyF7s1qhnfefo1_1280“Quite simply, I wanted to see how ridiculous and flagrantly wrong/untruthful I could be and get away with it. I’d had the FFVII/sexism article written well over a year ago, yet I didn’t pull the trigger. I thought, at the time, that it would be far too stupid and misinformed for any publication to run. However, as the articles regarding feminist complaints on…well everything…began to pile up, each one getting progressively less logical and more poorly argued, I decided it was time.”

He writes that he was surprised by the number of people who agreed with the points he made in his article, which were deliberately false and absurd: “Despite the fact I’ve gone out of my way to make every point as ludicrous as possible, there are people who agree with Sandy.  I dropped in flagrant half-truths and lies, interpreted events in the broadest, most negative light imaginable, and tried my very best to make every objection I raised to include as much racism, sexism, and in the case of Tifa, body-shaming as possible.”

CHWEMmHUAAE0qNEHe also noted that he did not receive any of the online abuse so often complained about by internet feminists and female video game critics:  “Not a single rape threat. Not a single death threat. Don’t get me wrong, I know that those occur. But I think the reason I didn’t get them is because I didn’t condemn men as a group, or accuse an entire swathe of people as being hate-filled or of unknowingly hating themselves. I didn’t pass out broad judgements and demand the world change for me.”

Wow just wow…You know, I am starting to conclude that these Social Justice warriors know that a lot of the stuff they are publishing is fake, but they just don’t care. As long as it pushes the narrative. Not to mention that when their badly written articles spark a justified backlash, they can then publish subsequent articles about the ‘internet hate machine’ and what poor, poor victims they are. That is amazing trolling. It is actually more than that, exposing the hypocrisy these people peddle each day. Bravo Mr Ankukic vengeance is best served cold.

About larch

I am a cucumber in a fruit bowl.
This entry was posted in Gaming, Rants and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “The Mary Sue” runs hoax videogame article

  1. Pingback: American McGee and Totalbiscuit hits it out the park | Suitably Bored

Comments are closed.