Let’s talk about Assassin’s Creed Syndicate


I am about 12 hours into the game and so far it looks absolutely amazing, handles well with no noticeable frame rate drops and seems like a decent evolution from train wreck that was Unity. I didn’t run into any serious or obvious bugs, other than a single texture popping up in front of me while doing a side quest. I am also a massive fan of the gritty Victorian style. I will admit the lip syncing is off par when not in cut scenes, but other than that I really don’t have any complaints. Since Ezio Auditore I actually forgot that a main character in an Assassin’s Creed can actually be charming, relatable, and likeable.

Syndicate-4

Ubisoft has failed to create a protagonist as nuanced as Ezio since Assassins Creed 2, but it finally pulled it off with the Frye twins. They also introduce a fun new way to play.  While Jacob favours a more loud and violent approach to a situation, his twin sister Evie is more adept at taking enemies out silently without anyone noticing her. This is a clever design choice having two playable characters in a single game and makes for an unexpectedly refreshing change in the franchise.

Image473-585x300Also a serious mention goes to the on-train combat and parkour combat/running, it really does feel like the franchise has gone back to its roots.I genuinely believe that if Unity never released last year and Syndicate followed right after Black Flag, that Syndicate would have received a much more positive reception than it did and far less hate from the gaming community. The one thing I have taken away from playing Syndicate so far is that Ubisoft is still capable of trying something new and exciting with the series. And that it is one of the most underrated games of 2015.

About larch

I am a cucumber in a fruit bowl.
This entry was posted in Gaming, Playstation 4, Rants and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.