Why I wont be jumping on the Oculus bandwagon just yet


I am a little disappointed in the release cost of the Oculus Rift, I am not incredibly surprised though. Everybody expected a lower price point, even the creators of the Oculus eluded to this. I have no idea how they came up with that astronomical price though. I mean at this price only a very limited amount of people will be able to afford and buy into the Oculus Rift. That means it would not be as attractive for game developers to create and optimize their games for the Oculus Rift when the target audience is almost non-existent.  They had plenty of time to set this up and sell it at a more reasonable price point.

20140809_163219_HDRBut instead they have obliterated half of their audience at launch, especially when you consider some of the comments on social media websites and the internet. A huge missed opportunity I fear, and it has really taken all the shine off the whole VR experience for me. But as excited as I am about the mainstream release of VR, I am not willing (or able) to spend this much on a headset. Especially if you take into consideration that I also need to buy a new computer to handle VR properly as mine does not meet the minimum requirements.

The Oculus Rift headset is tested by attendees at the Eurogamer Expo at Earls Court in London.And I think that goes for most people who showed interest in the Oculus Rift. If even someone like me, who has been following the development of the Oculus with an eager eye and wants a good headset so badly, thinks that the Oculus headset is too expensive and will just not buy one, imagine what your average gamer or potential VR user will think of all of this.  I think and hope that Sony will now step up and offer us a good VR headset for at least half the price. Oculus may have just ruined the tech opportunity of a life time the way they did by entering the market at such a high price point.

About larch

I am a cucumber in a fruit bowl.
This entry was posted in Gaming, Rants and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.