Scream Queens so bad it’s good


Scream Queens really has lived up to the hype it has generated before its release for me. And just by watching the first three episodes I can see so much potential for the rest of the season. But I can also see people taking this show way to seriously (which they already seem to be doing), which really isn’t the point since the show also does not take itself too seriously. I can pretty much predict now that a lot of people are not going to like the satire, humour, racism and jabs at homosexuality. If you are like me and don’t take it seriously it’s hilarious, and like all good satire it breaks down barriers instead of puts them up. Scream Queens puts a comical spin on what was already comical about the 90s slasher movies.

162eddb0-e09c-0132-4649-0ebc4eccb42f

The cliches and tropes in this are brilliantly served, practically all of the characters are hard to like, but to some degree it adds to the humor. I think some of the reviews have missed a couple things. This is not just a parody/homage to slasher movies of the 90’s. It is a parody of bad horror movie, inside of another movie. Think inception, second you are in slasher universe. A universe that consists of a staple diet of one dimensional characters, bad dialog, silly plots, terrible decision-making, and all the other horror conventions we have come to hate and love. If you love exaggerated characters and horror satire, I recommend giving it a try. It is a show to be taken lightly and is entertaining as well as funny.

About larch

I am a cucumber in a fruit bowl.
This entry was posted in Reviews, TV Shows/TV Series and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Scream Queens so bad it’s good

  1. Tolgrath says:

    Mmm…I watched the first episode and now I have a battle within trying to decide whether I watch the rest or not…

Comments are closed.