The Year in Review


All I can say is what a year it has been. It has had its ups and down from having issues at work, to my financial troubles and looking for a new job. I for one, am glad that it is almost over and I look forward to what 2015 might bring me. I am not one for making New Year’s resolutions, but on top of my list would definitely be finding a new job and improving my financial outlook for the foreseeable future. So from myself and Suitably Bored we want to wish all of our readers happy holidays and happy 2015. I will be taking a break from writing and updating the blog and Facebook page till the 5th of January 2015, I want to take a bit of a break and recharge my writing batteries so to speak. So until then I will see you guys around. So before I go I thought it would be nice to compile a list of the most memorable articles and news pieces that I posted on my blog during the course of 2014. So without further ado here in no particular order are some of those news pieces/articles that stood out for me during the year.

caps omtIn comic book news Spider-Woman’s butt made big news on the internet and had the social justice warriors of the internet wrenching in “disgust” over their keyboards. Later it was proven that they made a mountain out of a mole hill. In videogame news Anita Sarkeesian made headline again with her videogames versus woman trope series. And the subsequent fallout that followed and the creation of the #Gamersgate and 4chan’s involvement, not to mention the throwing of shit at each other from both sides to see what might stick. Wil Wheaton thought that if we all started using our real names on the internet it would detoxify the current toxic environment of the internet, Blizzard attempted this in the past and it failed terribly. And let’s be honest having an internet troll use his real name does not change the nature of the beast. Violence in videogames was also a re-occurring theme during 2014, most notably with the re-release of Grand Theft Auto 5.

580hahainAs the anti-game fraternity tried their best to link videogame violence with real world violence.  Then there was Destructive Creations game “Hatred” which pushed the boundaries of what can be considered tasteful and acceptable content in videogames. And some people like myself felt that creating a game purely to shock and titillate is where the line needs to be drawn, as it misrepresents the gaming industry and gamers themselves as a bunch of blood thirsty psychopaths who will act out what they see while playing videogames. Honourable mention goes to the outcry by so called hard-core Starwars fans by the inclusion of a black Stormstrooper in the trailer for Starwars: The Force Awakens. Because the Stormtrooper club is for whites only. Not to mention the new lightsaber design had all the traditionalists arguing on the internet about its practicality. 2014 was filled with equal parts nerd rage, mountains out of mole hills and played off like a badly acted television drama.

About larch

I am a cucumber in a fruit bowl.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Gaming, Rants and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.